Day 5: Don’t Judge Me.

Today, I kinda of did things the opposite way round. I read a tweet about judging others.

“I think it’s a wrong word when people say don’t “judge” others. It’s more or less part rational and part irrational character analysis.”
“To interact with someone you have never met before, you have to “judge” them so to speak before going any further.” (I’ve nicked these tweets from @VimtoGirl)

And she’s right. From the moment you meet someone you will make a judgement. You need to know how to interact with this person; are you going to be friendly, be standoffish, your normal weird self? You decide which part of your personality to show this person you’ve met for the first time by judging what this person is like. Whether that’s based on the way they talk, dress.. body language. We all judge one another. I think the negative version of the word is accuse. When people accuse another person for being a type of person, then that’s dodgy.

It then lead me to think about the hadiths (sayings of the Prophet (peace be upon him and his family) that says we should not judge a person based on their past but of what their actions are of the present. Also, the verses in the Quran about God’s mercy and how He forgives the sins of a person if they ask Him to.

There are people who like to gossip. If you think about it, these people will find a recent thing a person did to talk about. But, very quickly into the conversation you will find them referring to this person’s past. If this isn’t making sense, I’m talking about those ‘bad girls gone good’ sort of people (please excuse the wording of the phrase. They may not be bad to start off, but they may just want to live a better lifestyle). If a girl is really trying her best to sort her life out, she will have gossips talking about her past. And that’s a big fat shame. Mainly because every effort she’s going through to become a better person is being trampled all over because she can’t get away from her past. That ‘bad’ name is hard to shake off. Let’s put it in the context of marriage. You’ve found a suitable partner. She’s done some crazy stuff in her past, but the person they are now.. that’s the person you want to be with for the rest of your life. If you found out about their past.. would that put you off? I think most would verbally say no but there will be a nagging doubt inside your head. There are even those people who fall for the bad boy/bad girl type with hope that they will change into the perfect wife/husband material in the future. Judging someone should be about what their actions say. In the present. Not about what someone has done in their past. Or what someone may do in the future. It is about who they are right now.

The next point I wanted to bring up is about God’s mercy. It is all over the Quran and describe in thousands of hadiths. It is repeated again and again. When people say “how dare you judge me, only God can judge me”… they do have a point to a certain extent. If God judges us, I’m pretty sure He’d think we’re all useless because we sin all the time. Every single day. If God had human attributes, we’d be stuffed because we’d get judged for the first few sins we’ve done and believe that we’re all crap people. If God had human attributes, and He indeed did judge us, then there’d be no hope for us because God may forgive but He won’t forget. That’s only if God had human attributes. But, God is God because.. He is nothing like his creation. The Creator cannot be just like His creation. Our buddies in China cannot create human like robots. We’d always be better than robots because we have emotions. Anyway, back to the topic; I just find it amazing that us sinners don’t get judged until our WHOLE life has been done with. If we turn back to God and repent for our sins, a new slate has been made. (That’s if, of course, we’re forgiven because we can never be sure.)

If God had human attributes, this wouldn’t have been said:

“Abu Hurairah reported: The Messenger of Allah, peace be upon him, said, “Undoubtedly, Allah does not look at your appearance or wealth, but rather He looks at your hearts and actions.” Then he pointed with his fingers to his chest.

[Sahih Muslim, Book 32, Number 6220]”

God will judge me, on the Day of Judgement, for all my actions and intentions. During the day my intention to do a good deed may change 30 times. Even after doing my good deed, my intention can change. But STILL God doesn’t judge me at the very moment in time because I still have time to change my intention. When in the middle of doing a bad deed God won’t judge me at that very moment because afterwards I can feel totally crap and repent for it. All I’m saying is that there is always a second opportunity. And my gosh do I take the mick with it. If I did rubbish stuff to my friends and said sorry.. but still carried on, you think they’d still be friends with me? Hell no! If that happened to me I’d get sick and tired and just give up with them. But that doesn’t happen with God. Because He is Most Merciful.

I can’t keep taking advantages of those second chances.

Anyhow, here is a hadith I’d like to leave you with:

“O son of Adam, as long as you call upon Me and put your hope in Me, I have forgiven you for what you have done and I do not mind. O son of Adam, if your sins were to reach the clouds of the sky and then you would seek My forgiveness, I would forgive you. O son of Adam, if you were to come to Me with sins that are close to filling the earth and then you would meet Me without ascribing any partners with Me, I would certainly bring to you forgiveness close to filling it.”
[Hadith Qudsi – the Hadith Qudsi are hadith’s in which the Prophet says the Allah says so and so. The meaning of the these hadith was revealed to the Prophet but he put them in his own words, unlike the Quran which is the word of Almighty Allah and the Prophet conveyed it exactly as it was revealed to him.]

Day 5: Don’t Judge Me.

Leave a Reply

