Day 2: Good Selfish, Bad Selfish.

So today’s entry is going to be a little short. For two reasons; 1) This is a simple topic and 2) I’m really tired. Must remind you that this is literally my train of thought that’s been recorded. If it does not flow properly, I apologise.

I read this in the Quran today:

“Were you present when Jacob faced the hour of death and he asked his sons, ‘Who will you worship after me?’  They answered, ‘We will worship your God and the God of your fathers, Abraham and Ismael and Isaac; the one God; we have submitted ourselves to Him.’ Those were a people that have passed away; what they did is theirs and what you have done is yours. You will not be answerable for their deeds.’ 2:133-134

So this verse is talking about the dispute among the Jews about whether Abraham followed Islam or not. But it was the next verse that made me think. Those people that are mentioned in the Quran, all these people are long gone. They’re dead and they’re deeds are gone with them. They’re a part of history. And soon enough.. I will be too. When I’m dead and gone, I am dead. There is no coming back. Everything I did in my life is going with me. Nothing that you, the reader, are doing is going with me. Your compliments are not going to go with me. Your views on this post isn’t going with me. It’s my actions. It’s the fact that I’ve written this.. that’s what will stay. It is recorded for someone else to read. I have made my mark. This is what I have done. Whatever you have done is going with you.

But then again, this all sounds a little selfish to me. Mind the cliché but, it’s a dog eat dog world. If you think about it, we are all selfish. Very very selfish. If someone is upset, we feel bad and don’t feel at ease. So what’s the normal thing to do? Cheer them up. And as soon as they’re cheered up we can feel good again. Yeah we did the other person a favour, but it’s because we didn’t like feeling down with them. I guess we can call that the nice selfishness. The bad selfishness is the stuff that we’re more prone to think about. Things like your sibling only washing their dish in the sink and they won’t wash the others. That’s annoying and selfish. Or earning money and the only person you spend it on is yourself. That’s also annoying and selfish. This verse just yells.. everyone is accountable for their own actions. Whether these actions are for someone else or not. You’ll be accountable for it. Whether you believe in a God or not, one day down the line, the actions you do will be the only thing that will make you a good or a bad person. A good selfish person or a bad selfish person. Drawing it back to Islam, there’s always an opportunity for you to rack up the rewards. If you visit the sick, which is a nice thing to do and can be seen as an unselfish act, you will get  rewarded. If someone sneezes and you bless them, you rack up the reward. Muslims get these rewards because we do it with God in mind, we want God’s love and attention . So, is being selfish so bad?

‘…what they did is theirs and what you have done is yours.’ I think this will appeal to many people today. I’ve heard a lot of people say it. ‘Why do you care that so and so is doing such and such. It’s their life. You live your own life.’ Fair enough. I fully believe one should not stick their nose in someone else’s business. But I like the idea of a community. I like the idea that people look out for one another. If you truly love someone, you want them to succeed with you. (Succeeding could be having a happy life with someone or entering heaven with the one you love. It’s all very subjective.) So you’re gonna do all you can to help the one you love go to that happy place. In the end though, they’re going to go their grave and I will go to mine. However much you do for another person, however much you try to read night prayers together so you can see them draped in beautiful garments in the next life, what you did in this life is the only thing that will matter. That could be helping others and making a difference in other people’s lives but that’s still YOUR actions. When you think of it like that.. love seems a bit bleh. The idea of going to heaven without the person you love being there seems a bit bleh.

I guess in that sense, if you live a life where you want to be happy with the ones you love, everyone in your little group of people will need to be sincere of their intentions. Everyone will need to be working towards the same goal. One person can’t be doing all the hard work. It’s gotta go both ways. Both people will want to radiate off one another, work together to be better people, if you’re religious then you’ll want to do all that you can so you can rest in heaven together. So I guess by looking out for yourself in the sense that you want to please God… you end up automatically looking out for others.

So it’s a win win situation…? Interesting.

Day 2: Good Selfish, Bad Selfish.

Leave a Reply

