For You: Behind The Screen


‘For You’ was inspired by The Kite Runner, a book written by Khaled Hosseini. I read the book a while ago in one day. I just couldn’t put the book down. This book took me through a whirlwind of emotions. It’s about a journey of a friendship between two boys in Afghanistan, Amir and Hussain. Amir, the son of a rich man, yearns for his fathers love as he believes Hassan, son of the servant who works for Amir and his father, has been slowly taking his father’s love away. Amir and Hassan grew up together and Hassan was the successful kite runner for Amir’s kite flying competitions. An event happened (which I won’t reveal for those who haven’t read it yet) which changes the whole story.

The infamous line that stood out to me, and I’m sure to many others who also read the book, is the line ‘For you, a thousand times over.’ That line encompasses the whole narrative of the book. It’s about how far one would go to be loyal to another, to love another, to look out for another. We go through everything Amir goes through. Feels everything he feels. I also hated him a little because of the way he acted when Hassan went through huge lengths to remain being a loyal friend.

I had to fight with my own thoughts, whether I liked Amir or not, whether he did the right thing or not. So many elements of this story that I could relate to. Does Amir really love Hassan the way he says he does? Do we love people the way we say we do? We all talk the talk,  but when it comes down to really being there for someone, do we bottle it and turn back or do we go through many burdens just to be there for them? We all connect to one another, in some sense, because we all have something another person needs. Whether that be time, a good laugh or a distraction. I don’t know if this is too brave/brash to say, but we are all selfish. We all need and want from one another. So when the time comes, where you have to make that decision about whether you should look out for yourself for the greater good or take yourself out of the equation and look out for another regardless of the consequences… would you stumble? I’m only asking because I wouldn’t know what to do in that situation. Maybe it’s better to go through a moment of pain and live in blissful ignorance. Or it could be better to go through pain for a long period of time but knowing you’ve done your best. Each situation is different. I couldn’t pick one. But it’s that fight within ourselves that I wanted to highlight.


Also, another very important aspect of the poem is the issue of rape. This is something quite personal to me. It happened to someone I know, a very long time ago. I wanted to write it for her knowing that I wish I could have saved her from it because it has scarred her so much that it stops her from doing certain things, even to this day. It has changed the way she views relationships and the people she talks to. It stops her from getting close to anyone. And understandably so. But that one tiny moment has changed her life. And I couldn’t help but wonder what she would have been like if that never happened. The sad thing is that she felt like she couldn’t go to anyone for help. It may seem like a petty thing to say, but I believe that everything happens for a reason. I know she wouldn’t have been the amazing person she is today without that experience testing her strength and faith in humanity.

Rape and domestic violence is and has always been a taboo subject. But taboo subjects are usually the ones that need to be talked about. I don’t have much brain power to change this, but I do have my writing ability. So I will help in any way I can.

This poem is for those who have felt oppressed, been taken advantage of, and for those who genuinely wish they could have done something about it.

For You: Behind The Screen

Leave a Reply

